St Patrick's College Strathfield

Celebrating Success


On Friday 8 February, following the Opening College Mass, the College held its annual High Achievers Assembly to acknowledge and celebrate the distinguished academic achievements of the HSC Class of 2018. Both the Opening College Mass and the High Achievers Assembly were held at the Sydney Olympic Park Quay Centre in Homebush, providing much needed room and comfort to hold such big events on the same day.

At the Assembly, we welcomed back the Graduates of the HSC Class of 2018 who achieved an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) of 90 and above. Each were presented with their Academic Excellence Award for Distinguished Achievement in the State. These young men represent the top echelon of HSC candidates in the State.

In particular, we congratulate Christopher Nuzzo who is College Dux for 2018 having achieved an ATAR of 98.65 and Nicholas Doherty as Proxime Accessit with an ATAR of 98.60. In addition; Rhys Hughes was placed fifth in the State in Entertainment Industry, Jamison Merhi placed fourth in the State in French Beginners and Zachary Saric placed first in the State in Entertainment Industry. Four students were placed on the State’s All-Rounders List; Justin Cordi with seven merit listings, Nicholas Doherty with six merit listings, Matthew Kazzi with five merit listings and Jamison Merhi with six merit listings. A comprehensive publication of the HSC Class of 2018 High Achievers is available here.

All assembled also congratulated Harrison Armour as the successful recipient of the 2019 Br R J McDonald Teacher Scholarship and Year 11 students; Christian Taffa, Emilio Campana and William Yates who are recipients of the 2019 Br McGlade Scholarships. In addition, the talents of Year 8 student Bailey Yeates were recognised with him being awarded the 2019 Br McGlade Organ Scholarship.

These young men have done themselves, their Class, their College and their families proud by their outstanding achievements. We share in their pride and congratulate each and every one of them for their hard work and determination in their academic pursuits.